Skip to main content
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.

Please note: Your browser does not support the features used on Addgene's website. You may not be able to create an account or request plasmids through this website until you upgrade your browser. Learn more

Please note: Your browser does not fully support some of the features used on Addgene's website. If you run into any problems registering, depositing, or ordering please contact us at [email protected]. Learn more

news Congratulations to the Winners of the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences

Addgene is excited to congratulate our depositors who were recently awarded the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences. The prize awarded $3 million to 11 scientists as a way to recognize “excellence in research aimed at curing intractable diseases and extending human life”, as described in the recent press release.

Addgene is proud to distribute plasmids on behalf of 8 of the 11 winners:

  • Cori Bargmann - Rockefeller University
    For the genetics of neural circuits and behavior, and synaptic guidepost molecules.

  • David Botstein - Princeton University
    For linkage mapping of Mendelian disease in humans using DNA polymorphisms.

  • Lewis C. Cantley - Weill Cornell Medical College
    For the discovery of PI 3-Kinase and its role in cancer metabolism.

  • Hans Clevers - Hubrecht Institute
    For describing the role of Wnt signaling in tissue stem cells and cancer.

  • Titia de Lange - Rockefeller University
    For research on telomeres, illuminating how they protect chromosome ends and their role in genome instability in cancer.

  • Bert Vogelstein - Johns Hopkins University
    For cancer genomics and tumor suppressor genes.

  • Bob Weinberg - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    For characterization of human cancer genes.

  • Shinya Yamanaka - Kyoto University
    For induced pluripotent stem cells.

We would like to extend our congratulations to these scientists, as well as to the other 3 winners (Napoleone Ferrara, Eric S. Lander, and Charles L. Sawyers). We are glad to be able to support the world class research being done by these scientists and their labs by helping to distribute their plasmids to the research community.